The Medallion

The Saint Thomas Aquinas Medallion, an award established by the Board of Governors of Thomas Aquinas College in 1975, is a means of specially recognizing those Catholics who have demonstrated by their lives and work an extraordinary dedication to God and His Holy Catholic Church. Each recipient has exhibited unusual devotion to God and His Church by unfailing adherence to the Magisterium and by influential leadership in advancing the teachings of the Church. The Medallion is awarded by resolution of the Board of Governors on behalf of the entire College community.

Past Recipients of the Saint Thomas Aquinas Medallion


Mr. H. Lyman Stebbins †
1976 Charles E. Rice, J.D. †
1977 Rev. Christopher J. O’Toole, C.S.C. †
1978 Most Rev. Jerome J. Hastrich, D.D. †
1979 Most Rev. Norman F. McFarland, D.D., J.C.D. †
1980 Colin G. Clark, Ph.D. †
1981 Rev. John A. Hardon, S.J. †
1982 St. Teresa of Calcutta, M.C. †
1985 Mr. Carl N. Karcher †
Ralph M. McInerny, Ph.D. †
1986 Rev. Thomas A. McGovern, S.J. † (In Memoriam)
Norman P. De Silva, Ph.D. † (In Memoriam)
1987 Rev. Monsignor Vincent I. Carroll †
1989 John Cardinal O’Connor †
1990 Herbert Ratner, M.D. †
1991 Sr. Eileen MacDonald, I.H.M. † (In Memoriam)
1993 Sir Daniel J. Donohue †
1995 Most Rev. Renato R. Martino
1996 Ronald P. McArthur, Ph.D. †
Right Rev. Ladislas K. Parker, O.Praem., S.T.D. †
The Honorable William P. Clark, J.D. †

Anthony Cardinal Bevilacqua †
Rev. Thomas Conn, S.J. † (In Memoriam)

1999 Jan Cardinal Schotte †
2000 The Honorable Jeremiah A. Denton, Jr. †
2001 Francis Cardinal George, O.M.I. †
2002 Christoph Cardinal Schönborn, O.P.
2003 J. Francis Cardinal Stafford
2004 Francis Cardinal Arinze
2005 Avery Cardinal Dulles, S.J. †
2006 Most Rev. Celestino Migliori
2007 Albert Malcolm Cardinal Ranjith
2008 George Cardinal Pell
2009 Dr. Thomas E. Dillon † (In Memoriam)
Marc Cardinal Ouellet
2010 Raymond Cardinal Burke, D.D., J.C.D.
2011 The Most Rev. José H. Gomez, S.T.D.
Mr. Marcus R. Berquist † (In Memoriam)


Peter L. Deluca
John W. Neumayr, Ph.D. †
Mother Mary Assumpta Long, O.P.

2013 Rev. Cornelius M. Buckley, S.J.
Daniel Cardinal DiNardo
2014 Edwin Cardinal O’Brien
2015 Sr. Regina Marie Gorman, O.C.D.
2016 The Most Rev. Salvatore J. Cordileone
Gerhard Cardinal Müller
2017  Mother Agnes Mary Donovan, S.V.
2018 The Most Rev. Robert C. Morlino †
2019 The Most Rev. Robert E. Barron
2021 The Most. Rev. Thomas J. Paprocki

Carl A. Anderson
Michael F. McLean, Ph.D.

Most Rev. Robert J. McManus, S.T.D.

2023 The Most Rev. James D. Conley, D.D., S.T.L.